dynamicshoogl.blogg.se

Stomp the yard movie
Stomp the yard movie





stomp the yard movie

More movies need to focus on uplifting people rather than portraying their stereotypes and continuing the circle of despair. It provided to me a good feeling when DJ entered Heritage House and paid respect to all the Civil Rights leaders and influential people who paved the way for him to succeed. Stomp the Yard, as its’ predecessors, offers the hope that there is indeed a better life out there to those who wish to grab a hold of it. His love interest, April (played by Meagan Good) is even less interesting. DJ (played by Columbus Short) is an uninteresting kid. The writers could have made the story slightly more interesting by making me care, even in the slightest amount, about the movie’s main characters.

stomp the yard movie

I got the feeling Stomp the Yard was simply thrust through a cookie cutter machine and dumped into theaters because there wasn’t any primarily black movies out at the moment. Second problem was the lack of story development. I saw little variation in the dance moves and even less movement in the faces of the dancers - are they all supposed to look angry all the time? I openly admit I can’t dance worth a shit, but I’ve seen better dance choreography at an N’Sync concert.

#Stomp the yard movie movie#

The battle scenes at the beginning of the movie weren’t overly impressive and the stomp dancing later in the film was repetitious at best. So perhaps it is my whiteness shining through – but this movie bored me terribly.įirst problem (other than the fact the movie is utterly non-original) is the lame - yes, I said LAME - dancing. I’ve seen it before in movies like “School Daze” and “Drumline.” The story is basically the same, just the creative outlet has changed. A troubled or a nonconformist youth put into a group situation where he falls in love with the pretty, unattainable girl and ultimately grows to be a better human being. Unfortunately, Stomp the Yard exhibits all the same qualities as most other urban, black movies have. After all, can there be any other reason to see a movie about step lines? It is this reason - and this reason only - that I’ve decided to watch Stomp the Yard. I’ve always tried to overcome my caucasian roots by opening myself up to other cultures and thought processes. Let’s first begin by saying I’m a white guy.







Stomp the yard movie